Piotyr Tchaikovsky (1840-93)


Piotyr Tchaikovsky (1840-93)
Manfred Symphony, Op.58
Overture in C minor (no Op.no)*

Gennadi Rozhdestvensky
Large Symphony Orchestra
of the Ministry of Culture,
Russian Federation
*Moscow Symphony Orchestra
Sergei Skripka

Catalogue Number: ALC 1139
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime: 68:45, DDD 1987/9


(of his previous Tchaikovsky recordings) “As I have often felt with Rozhdestvensky’s recordings, their warm, easy spontaneity,…. suggests sessions where the aim was to communicate immediately and warmly in a near equivalent to live performance” (Gramophone)

‘Manfred’ Symphony Op.58

  • [1] I. Lento lugubre – Moderato con moto 16:01
  • [2] II. Vivace con spirito 9:38
  • [3] III. Andante con moto 10:35
  • [4] IV. Allegro con fuoco 18:31
  • [5] Overture in C minor (no Op.no) 13:50

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 x 13.5 x 2 cm