Beethoven Violin Concerto & Two Romances


Beethoven Violin Concerto & Two Romances

Berlin Philharmonic
Eugen Jochum
David Oistrakh
Royal Philharmonic
Eugene Goossens

Catalogue Number: ALC 1350
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime: Time, 62:25mins 1961/2 stereo
Barcode: 5055354413506


“Schneiderhan’s version is amongst the greatest recordings: the serene spiritual beauty of the slow movement and the playing of the second subject in particular have never been surpassed … Jochum provides a background tapestry of breadth and dignity” (Penguin Guide Rosette) “technically the best stereo version in the catalogue … slow-movement cadenza is rather good, with its hint of the finale theme just before the end … after the second cadenza in the finale, Jochum brings the ‘cellos and basses in with tremendous effect” (Gramophone)

  • Concerto for Violin in D major, Op.61
  • [1] Allegro ma non troppo (D major) 24:32
  • [2] Larghetto (G major) 10:45
  • [3] Rondo. Allegro (D major) 10:51
  • (cadenzas Schneiderhan)
  • Wolfgang Schneiderhan
  • Romances for Violin & Orchestra Opp.40 & 50
  • [4] Romance No. 1 in G major, Op. 40 7:19
  • [5] Romance No. 2 in F major, Op. 50 8:46
  • David Oistrakh

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 x 13.5 x 2 cm