Price: £9.99

“King of Prussia” Quartets

Mozart: String Quartets in D, K575
Mozart: String Quartet in B-flat K589
String Quartet in F K590


“It is particularly nice to hear this set because it features the Tokyo’s relatively new cellist, Clive Greensmith, who was formerly principal cellist of the Royal Philharmonic, and he does a bang-up job of it here. The Tokyo is known for their elegance and probing musicianship. They’ve been together for more than thirty years but have two newish members: Greensmith and first violinist Martin Beaver. The so-important inner voices of the quartets are played by two founding members of the quartet, Kikuei Ikeda, violin, and Kazuhide Isomura, viola. The funny thing is that when I listened to this one and then to an older set by the original four members I couldn’t hear much difference at all. One must presume that the older members of the quartet have initiated the newer ones in the ways of the group. At any rate, these are terrific readings of the three last wonderful quartets and they are worthy of inclusion in one’s library whether one’s first recordings of K.575, 589, and 590, or one’s tenth such set.” (J Scott Morrison)

Barcode: 744718021529