Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonatas


Ludwig van Beethoven:
Piano Sonatas

No.8 in c minor, Op.13 «Pathétique»
No.14 in c-harp minor, Op.227 «Moonlight»
No.26 in e-flat minor, Op.81a «Les Adieux»
No.23 in f minor, Op.57 «Appassionata»
Alfred Brendel, piano

Catalogue Number: ALC 1016
Number of Discs: 1
Duration: 74:32


Alfred Brendel’s classic Vox recordings of the most popular Beethoven piano sonatas – newly remastered from original analogue tapes using JVC K2 technology for maximum fidelity to the source material.

“Vox reissues offer the rare opportunity not only to reassess the musical and interpretative development of this fine pianist over more than 30 years, but also to benefit from the purely musical insights which such a comparison can give.” — Gramophone

“Moonlight is hushed and gentle in its cool stillness, with veiled tone…. The finale, at a relaxed tempo, is beautifully pointed but does not seek extrovert excitement…. Les Adieux: finale is striking and direct… recordings excellently remastered: bright, bold and resonant with fine presence.” — Penguin Guide

Piano Sonata No.8 in C minor, Op.13 « Pathétique »

  • [1] I. Grave- allegro di molto e con brio 9:09
  • [2] II. Adagio cantabile 5:43
  • [3] III. Rondo: Allegro 4:20

Piano Sonata No.14 in C sharp minor, Op.27 « Moonlight »

  • [4] I. Adagio sostenuto 6:01
  • [5] II. Allegretto 2:19
  • [6] III. Presto agitato 7:38

Piano Sonata No.26 in E flat minor, Op.81a « Les Adieux »

  • [7] I. Das Lebewohl: Adagio –allegro 6:14
  • [8] II. Abwesenheit: andante espressivo 3:10
  • [9] III. Das Wiedersehen: vivacissimamente 5:34

Piano Sonata No.23 in F minor, Op.57 « Appassionata »

  • [10] I. Allegro assai 9:43
  • [11] II. Andante con moto 6:17
  • [12] III. Allegro ma non troppo – presto 8:05

Remastered for alto by Paul Arden-Taylor (
Released under license from SPJ Music.

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonatas”