Rachmaninov: Music for Cello and Piano


Rachmaninov: Music for Cello and Piano

Marina Tarasova / Alexander Polezhav

Catalog Number: ALC 1132
Number of Discs: 1


Cello masterpieces by the twentieth century’s Russian romantic master

“Tarasova is one of Russia’s best kept secrets.”
— Michael Cookson, Musicweb International

Rachmaninov’s Cello Sonata dates from the same period as his Piano Concerto No. 2, and is dedicated it to Anatoliy Brandukov, who gave the first performance in Moscow with the composer at the piano. Rachmaniniov disliked calling the work a cello sonata as he’d written music making the two instruments equals. Cellist Marina Tarasova and pianist Alexander Polezhaev couple this challenging sonata with short romantic masterpieces by Rachmaninov and Tchaikovsky.

Sergei Rachmaninov

Sonata for Cello and Piano in G minor, Op. 19

  • I. Lento – allegro moderato 15:31
  • II. Allegro scherzando 7:00
  • III. Andante 6:10
  • IV. Allegro mosso 10:42
  • Vocalise, Op.34 No.14 (transcribed by Anatoli Brandukov) 4:03
  • Romance/Ballade, Op.1 No.5 in A major 6:18
  • Elegy in Eb minor, Op.3 No.1 7:15
  • Prelude, Op.23 No.10 in G major 3:54

Piotr Il’ich Tchaikovsky

  • Nocturne, Op. 19 No. 4 4:31
  • Pezzo Capriccioso, Op. 62 6:40

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Rachmaninov: Music for Cello and Piano”