Richard Strauss (with Lutoslawski bonus work)


Richard Strauss (with Lutoslawski bonus work)
Oboe Concerto

Till Eulenspiegel
Waltz Suites 1 & 2
‘Der Rosenkavalier’
Heinz Holliger
Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
Gielen / Schippers

Catalogue Number: ALC 1134
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime: 78:56, ADD stereo


“sound is clear but never analytical, the perspective unobtrusive and outstandingly natural. One can, in short, concentrate undistracted on the performances which, that of the Lutoslawski in particular, are highly distinguished. Holliger has not always seemed quite at home in the Strauss…..But without abandoning any of his seemingly effortless dexterity…. he has also found a sweetness, an affectionate tenderness…. and it is a joy to hear every note so crisply and neatly tucked into place.
After Strauss’s backward glances toward the 18th century, it is easier than ever to find others in the Lutoslawski Double Concerto, which is rapidly becoming that rare phenomenon, a truly popular contemporary classic…. It is a lovable work, and the Holligers play it with relaxed enjoyment as well as brilliance “ (Gramophone)
“Oboe conc is about the happiest wind concerto written since Haydn and Holliger chatters away merrily through it” (American Record Guide)

  • [1] Oboe Concerto (1946)* 24:15
  • [2] Till Eulenspeigel 15:01
  • [3] 1st Waltz sequence (from Der Rosenkavalier) (1944) 11:32
  • [4] 2nd Waltz sequence (from Der Rosenkavalier) (1911) 8:17
  • Witold Lutoslawski (1913-94)* (1979-80) 19:26
    [5] Double Concerto for Oboe, Harp & Chamber Orchestra

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm