Solo Guitar Music / Julian Bream


Solo Guitar Music / Julian Bream

Julian Bream

Catalogue Number: ALC 1238
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime: Time: Time 73:43 AAD/ADD 1956/62


“high voltage comes from the Villa Lobos pieces…playing here is freely inspirational, especially the evocative E minor Prelude, made to sound like distant bells tolling..

how engaging is the Tórroba Preludio while the subtle atmosphere of the Burgalesa is beautifully caught..there is a most convincing (recording) ambience….Bream’s

characteristically inspirational way with Spanish repertoire, which he plays as colloquially and spontaneously as any Mediterranean-born guitarist” (Penguin 3*)

  • Villa-Lobos: Five Preludes for Guitar (1940) (20:30)
  • Tórroba: Preludio in E major (1.54)
  • Tórroba: Sonatina in A major (12:00)
  • Tórroba: Nocturno in A minor (3.29)
  • Tórroba: Burgalesa in F sharp major (3.04)
  • Mateo Albéniz (arr. Pujol): Sonata (3.58)
  • Rodrigo: En los trigales (3.35)
  • Frescobaldi (arr.Segovia):
  • Aria Detta “La Frescxolbalda’ (con Variazioni) (5.21)
  • Domenico Scarlatti (arr.Bream): Sonata in E minor (3.54)
  • Domenico Scarlatti (arr.Segovia): Sonata in E minor (2.34)
  • J.S. Bach: Prelude, Fugue and Allegro (13.24)

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm