Beethoven: Missa Solemnis (Mass in D, Op.123)


Beethoven: Missa Solemnis (Mass in D, Op.123)

Leonard Bernstein
Eileen Farrell Carol Smith
Richard Lewis Kim Borg
Westminster Choir
New York Philharmonic
violin solo: John Corigliano

Catalogue Number: ALC 1240
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime: Time 76:32 stereo 1962


“It was not in doubt that Bernstein would respond vividly and warmly to its dramatic and emotional qualities … He has wonderful support from the Westminster Choir who respond unfailingly and remain fresh and untiring. Their soft singing is beautiful … Bernstein has also an excellent solo quartet: Lewis …some beautiful singing … Borg’s dark bass a solid foundation … fine tone and musicianship of Carol Smith. Eileen Farrell is a tower of strength. Her glorious voice, splendid attack and impeccable intonation give constant pleasure. Let me here praise the exquisite playing of John Corigliano and the New York Philharmonic. Bernstein … and the fine forces which he has inspired, have given us here a most musical, deeply felt and, where applicable, thrilling performance of the Missa Solemnis.” (Gramophone)

  • 1.     Kyrie     9:21
  • 2.     Gloria: Gloria in excelsis Deo      4:26
  • 3.     Gloria: Qui tollis                           5:54
  • 4.     Gloria: Quoniam                           6:12
  • 5.     Credo: Credo in unum Deum        4:09
  • 6.     Credo: Et incarnatus est               5:20
  • 7.     Credo: Et resurrexit                      9:26
  • 8.     Sanctus: Sanctus                          6:39
  • 9.     Sanctus: Benedictus                    9:49

  • 10.   Agnus Dei: Agnus Dei                  6:30
  • 11.   Agnus Dei: Dona nobis pacem     8:15

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm