Carl Maria von Weber


Carl Maria von Weber
Clarinet Concertos Nos. 1 & 2
Gran Quintetto for Clarinet & Strings
David Glazer, Gervase de Peyer (Clarinets)
Württemburg Chamber Orchestra/Jorg Faerber; Melos Ensemble

Gervase de Peyer
Melos Ensemble
David Glazer
Württemburg Orchestra
Jörg Faerber

Catalogue Number: ALC 1252
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime: 1961/68 ADD, 66:25


(Conc.1) “The F minor Concerto produces a warm, musical tone while the playing, both on the part of the soloist and the orchestra, is very good -Glazer is refreshingly free from excessive vibrato and is an expressive player…music and performance alike give genuine pleasure.” (Conc.2 & Quintetto): Weber’s clarinet music is a great favourite with players …thus when really writing a clarinet concerto he could hardly fail to make it effective… De Peyer plays superlatively, expounding equally effectively both brilliance and poetry, in whatever proportions they may be mixed …difficult to exaggerate the pleasure of having these two concertos in such excellent performances” (Gramophone)

    Clarinet Concerto No.1 in F minor, Op.73

  • 1. I. Allegro 7:35
  • 2. II. Adagio ma non troppo 6:31
  • 3. III. Rondo: Allegretto 6:11
  • Gran Quintetto for Clarinet & Strings in B flat, Op.43

  • 4. I. Allegro 7:13
  • 5. II. Fantasia: Allegro ma non troppo 5:35
  • 6. III. Minuetto – Cappriccio presto – Trio 5:10
  • 7. IV. Rondo: Allegro giojoso 6:05
  • Clarinet Concerto No.2 in E flat, Op.74

  • 8. I. Allegro 8:41
  • 9. II. Andante con moto 6:19
  • 10. III. Alla Polacca 6:40

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm