Vladimir Horowitz (encores): Last of the Romantics


Vladimir Horowitz (encores): Last of the Romantics

Vladimir Horowitz (piano)

Catalogue Number: ALC 1257
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime: Time 75:38


“His wizardry was undeniable, his technique unique. Playing with almost flat fingers, which requires great strength, and with minimum use of the pedal, he was frequently praised for making the most demanding works appear easy … excitement generated at his concerts was white-hot and his pyrotechnics left audiences open-mouthed: Emanuel Ax commented that Horowitz was always in complete control, while suggesting ‘that everything was just on the verge of going haywire’.”(James Murray)

  1. Mozart: Rondo alla Turca 3:43
  2. Chopin: Waltz No.3 in A minor, Op.34, No.2 4:58
  3. Chopin: Barcarolle, Op.60 8:40
  4. Mendelssohn: Songs Without Words
    Elégie/Spring Song/The Shepherd’s Complaint 7:03
  5. Mendelssohn/Horowitz: Wedding March
    and Variations after Liszt 6:05
  6. Schumann: Arabesque, Op.18 6:35
  7. Liszt/Horowitz: Hungarian Rhapsody No.2 8:48
  8. Liszt/Horowitz: Hungarian Rhapsody No.19 9:46
  9. Scriabin: Sonata No.9 in one movement
    ‘Black Mass’, Op.68 6:22
  10. Moszkowski: Étincelles 2:12
  11. Debussy: Children’s Corner
    Serenade for the Doll 2:55
  12. Bizet/Horowitz: Variations on Themes from Carmen 3:35
  13. Sousa/Horowitz: Stars and Stripes Forever 3:53

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm