Dvořák & Schumann Cello Concertos


Dvořák & Schumann Cello Concertos

Msitslav Rostropovich
R.P.O / Adrian Boult

Catalogue Number: ALC 1261
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime: Time: 64:04 ADD, 1961/2


(Dvořák) “No praise can be too high for Rostropovich’s performance; not only for its actual playing, technically, but for the poetry, the true inwardness of his expressiveness … I may perhaps be allowed now to say that no performance I have ever heard has given me deeper enjoyment.” (Schumann) “nothing detached or remote about Rostropovich’s playing: indeed his is a reading that is totally committed. He plays with his usual authority and wealth of tone and with great expressive intensity.” (both: Gramophone)

Dvořák: Cello Concerto in B minor, Op.104 (38:33)

    • [1] I. Allegro 14:32
    • [2] II. Adagio ma non troppo 11:38
    • [3] III. Finale. Allegro moderato 12:22

Schumann: Cello Concerto in A minor, Op.129 (25:20)

  • [4] Nicht zu schnell 12:09
  • [5] Langsam 4:59
  • [6] Sehr Lebhaft 8:11

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm