Miklós Rózsa: Cello Concerto; Sinfonia Concertante


Miklós Rózsa: Cello Concerto; Sinfonia Concertante

Raphael Wallfisch – cello
Philippe Graffin – violin
BBC Concert Orchestra
Barry Wordsworth

Catalogue Number: ALC 1274
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime: DDD, 2005: time 62:26


“(Cello Concerto) composed for Janós Starker, it is not hard to see the appeal. Unlike many film composers, Rózsa understood that writing in abstract demanded a different approach, not least in placing his melodic genius at the service of the musical argument. Expertly balanced between soloist and orchestra, the Hungarian flavour hints at what a late Bartok cello concerto might have sounded like . (Sinfonia concertante) written originally alongside the score of Ben-Hur for Heifetz and Piatigorsky. Raphael Wallfisch clearly has an affinity with these splendid works and the BBC Concert Orchestra are on great form … Graffin partners Wallfisch adroitly … warmly recommended.” (Gramophone)

  • Cello Concerto Op.32
  • [1] I: Moderato 13:21
  • [2] II: Lento con grande espressione 9:59
  • [3] III: Allegro vivo 8:59
  • Sinfonia Concertante Op.29
  • [4] I: Allegro non troppo 10:03
  • [5] II: Tema con variazione 11:34
  • [6] III: Allegro con brio 8:20

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm