Mozart: The Two Piano Quartets K478, K493


Mozart: The Two Piano Quartets K478, K493

The Nash Ensemble
(Marianne Thorsen – violin
Lawrence Power – viola
Paul Watkins – cello
lan Brown – piano)

Catalogue Number: ALC 1304
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime: 66:40; DDD 2005/6
Barcode: 5055354413049


“Mozart’s piano quartets, sharply contrasted, are among the finest of his chamber works, with K478 bringing depths that G minor always seems to draw from him. This new performance … has a better, more just balance, so that sparkling piano is a constant delight … partnered by an exceptionally strong trio of string players … lighter and faster than rivals, yet dazzlingly clear… The E flat K493 … more orchestral texture, but again this performance is lighter and the slow movement more tenderly expressive. In the finale too the Nash play with extra sparkle, with rhythms jauntily sprung … far more charming than … rivals, and the rapid triplet figuration is a delight to the ear … this new offering stands among the finest.”(Gramophone)

  • Piano Quartet in G minor, K478 (1785)
  • [1] I: Allegro 14:24
  • [2] II: Andante 6:57
  • [3] III: Rondo: Allegro moderato 7:45
  • Piano Quartet in E flat, K493 (I786)
  • [4] I: Allegro 15:20
  • [5] Il: Larghetto 13:22
  • [6] III: Allegretto 8:51

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm