Beethoven Symphonies 4 & 6 ‘Pastoral’


London Symphony Orchestra Bernard Haitink

Catalogue Number: ALC 1388
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime: Total Time: 74:22 DDD, 2005/6
Barcode: 5055354413889


(4th) “complete confidence exists between the LSO, in magnificent form, and its conductor.This disc is a climax to the series” (BBC 5*)
(6th) “For anyone who wants first-rate stereo sound and a broadly traditional reading, it is hard to imagine more profoundly satisfying accounts than these. The playing of the LSO is nowadays quite magnificent” (BBC 4*)
“Very appealing, this – Both readings are profoundly satisfying, the work of musicians who know the scores backwards, love playing them and know what not to do … Haitink and the LSO seem set to provide one of the top Beethoven cycles of the digital era.” (Gramophone)

Beethoven: Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 60 [32:43]
[1] I. Adagio – Allegro vivace 11:18
[2] II. Adagio 9:05
[3] III. Allegro vivace 5:37
[4] IV. Allegro ma non troppo 6:40
Beethoven: Symphony No. 6 in F major, Op. 68 ‚Pastoral‘[41:30]
[5] I. Erwachen heiterer Empfindungen bei der
Ankunft auf dem Lande. Allegro ma non troppo 11:38
[6] II. Szene am Bach. Andante molto mosso 11:48
[7] III. Lustiges Zusammensein der Landleute. Allegro 4:59
[8] IV. Gewitter, Sturm. Allegro 3:31
[9] V. Hirtengesang – Frohe und dankbare Gefühle
nach dem Sturm. Allegretto 9:32

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm