Brahms and Mendelssohn Violin Concertos Corelli ‘La Folia’ Sonata


Arthur Grumiaux Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Bernard Haitink Eduard van Beinum

Catalogue Number:  ALC 1412
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime:76:27 stereo
Barcode: 5055354414121


[Brahms] “recordings are excellent, Grumiaux’s playing and interpretation equal any I have ever heard . . . balance between soloist and orchestra is natural, no praise is too high for interpretation – a most lyrical performance, full of beauty”
” [Mendelssohn] “these performances are among the best and Grumiaux’s playing has his usual purity of style and instinctive musicianship to commend it.”
[Corelli] : “a glorious tone, and he infuses Corelli’s beautiful slow movements with warm lyricism … difficult to resist such beauty” (all: Gramophone)

Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op.64 [25:56]
1. I. Allegro molto appassionato 12:00
2. II. Andante 7:28
3. III. Allegro molto vivace 6:27
Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major, Op.77 [38:26]
4. I. Allegro non troppo 21:53
5. II. Adagio 8:44
6. III. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo vivace – Poco più presto 7:48
7. Corelli: Violin Sonata in D minor, Op.5 No.12 “La Folia” 11:44
with Riccardo Castagnone (piano)

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm