Falla: Nights in the Gardens of Spain & Falla Piano Favourites


Alicia de Larrocha *with Orquesta de Conciertos, Madrid Jesus Arambarri

Catalogue Number: ALC 1437
Number of Discs: 1CD
Date/Runtime: stereo ADD, 1959/61 Time: 73:40
Barcode: 55055354414374


Cuatro Piezas Españolas
Aragonesa 3:16
Cubana 4:01
Montañesa 4:17
Andaluza 4:24
La Vida Breve – Danza No.2 4:30
El Sombrero de Tres Picos
Danza de los vecinos 3:21
Danza de la molinera 4:00
El amor brujo – Danza del terror 2:21
Fantasía Bética 11:56
El Amor Brujo – Danza ritual del fuego 4:15
Noches en los Jardines de España* [25:14]
I. En el Generalife 10:54
II. Danza Lejana 5:25
III. En los Jardines de la Sierra de Córdoba 8:49

“one of the very best pianists to have come out of Spain … Unlike many names who have offered themselves in this nationalist repertoire, she has an impeccably clean technique, considerable strength verve and temperament, but a level enough head to keep her from exaggerating effects to win applause, plus a delicate poetic sense without sentimentalising.” “Granados founded the Barcelona conservatory which now bears the name of his most dedicated pupil, Frank Marshall, who in turn, passed on to a new generation – principal among them Alicia de Larrocha” (Gramophone) [PRODUCER NOTE]: “source material here was of very high quality. Pitch correction and stabilization and repairs to dropouts and bad splices that afflicted previous releases allow these landmark recordings to be heard as never before”

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm