Chesnokov (1877-1944): Liturgy of St.John Chrysostom Op.42


Nikolai Georgievsky
Conductor –
Choir of the Church of the
Nativity of the Most Blessed
Virgin Mary. Vladykino, Moscow
(tenor – Arkadi Leontiev)

Catalogue Number: ALC 1440
Number of Discs: 1CD
Date/Runtime: Time: 70:45 DDD, 1989
Barcode: 5055354414404


[1] Great Ektene ‘Bless the Lord, O My Soul’ 9:08
[2] ‘Glory to the Father and the Only-Begotten Son’
Small Ektene ‘In Thy Kingdom Remember Us, O Lord’
‘Come Let Us Worship’ 9:15
[3] ‘Lord, Save”; The Trisagion of Good Friday
After Reading the Apostolic Epistle; After Reading the Gospel
Litany of Fervent Supplication; Ektenes Before the Cherubic Hymn 9:05
[4] The Cherubic Hymn; Ektene of Supplication 6:20
[5] ‘The Creed’ 7:07
[6] ‘A Mercy of Peace’ ‘To Thee We Sing’ 7:35
[7] ‘It is Meet’ 4:52
[8] Ektene of Supplication ‘Our Father’ (Lord’s Prayer) 5:53
[9] ‘Praise the Lord From the Heavens’ 2:06
[10] Conclusion 9:18

“Chesnokov represents a late flowering of Russian Orthodox traditions in the years before the Revolution … composers sought to renew the style by returning it to its roots in Medieval Slavic chant. Chesnokov excelled in this style, and in his many liturgical works was able to find an ideal balance between tradition and expression. His music was valued for its clarity, both in his voicing of harmonies and in his setting of texts. The Liturgy exemplifies Chesnokov’s approach, using traditional chant melodies and bringing them to the fore, but adding rich layers of harmony. These are made possible by the inclusion of female voices.” (Gavin Dixon 2021)

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm