Sergei Taneyev (1856-1915): Po prochtenii Psalma At the Reading of a Psalm (Cantata No.2, Op.36)


Russian National Orchestra / Mikhail Pletnev St. Petersburg Cappella Choir Vladislav Chernushenko

Catalogue Number: ALC 1445
Number of Discs: 1CD
Date/Runtime: DDD, 68:59, St.Petersburg, 2003
Barcode: 5055354414459

ALC 1445 texts



[1] Chorus (Allegro tempestoso) 5:14
[2] Double Chorus (Andante sostenuto)4:52
[3] Chorus. Triple Fugue (Andante-Allegro molto) 7:40
[4] Chorus (Allegro moderato-Fuga. Allegro tenebroso) 3:43
[5] Quartet (Andante) 10:58
[6] Quartet and Chorus (Adagio ma non troppo) 8:45
[7] Interlude (Allegro appassionato) 6:24
[8] Aria (Alto solo) (Adagio più tosto largo) 10:25
[9] Double Chorus. Finale. (Adagio pietoso e molto
cantabile- Allegro moderato –Allegro molto) 10:54

“(This) is an overlooked masterpiece of the Russian music literature … and I hope our disc will bring the recognition which it well deserves.” (Mikhail Pletnev) “Psalm 50 made a deep impression on Alexey Khomyakov, whose 1856 poem develops the idea that outward forms of religion are as nothing beside truth and brotherly love …(his) poem inspired Taneyev … a summation of Taneyev’s life and work … (bears) comparison with Beethoven’s Missa Solemnis, especially use of fugues …a compelling piece which Pletnev does well to clarify so successfully …includes a fine solo warmly sung by Marianna Tarassova.” (Gramophone)

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm