Mieczysław Weinberg (1919-96) Piano Quintet / Moldavian Rhapsody / Violin Concerto


Mieczysław Weinberg
(with) Borodin Quartet
& David Oistrakh
Leonid Kogan
(with) Moscow P.O/Kirill Kondrashin

Catalogue Number: ALC 1452
Number of Discs: 1CD
Date/Runtime: TIME: 75:32 AAD/ADD 1954 – 63
Barcode: 5055354414527


“the Piano Quintet does full justice to the densely packed chords and widely spaced spread of sound which Weinberg avowedly learnt from his mentor Shostakovich. It is engaging, expertly written and played with great address by the composer himself … To survive so much terror and retain such creative energy compels admiration. The Quintet may seem more rewarding for the surprising range of invention (eg. wild Irish fiddle). The performance is admirable. … Shostakovich declared how impressed he was with the Violin Concerto ‘splendidly interpreted by the violinist-Communist L.Kogan’ (a tart reference to Kogan’s politics.) This must be an authoritative performance … Kogan deals magnificently with a violin part that is seldom silent … Not surprisingly, Rhapsody on Moldavian Themes carries suggestions of the Enescu of the Romanian Rhapsodies. It receives a splendidly vigorous performance by Oistrakh” (Gramophone)

Piano Quintet in F Minor, Op.18 (1944) [40:00]
Mieczysław Weinberg, (piano); with the Borodin Quartet
[1] I. Moderato con moto 7:31
[2] II. Allegretto 5:56
[3] III. Presto 5:14
[4] IV. Largo 12:56
[5] V. Allegro agitato 8:21
[6] Rhapsody on Moldavian Themes, Op.47/2 (1949) 9:41
David Oistrakh (violin) & Mieczysław Weinberg (piano),
Violin Concerto in G minor, Op.67 (1959) [25:33]
Leonid Kogan, (violin), with Moscow P.O/ Kirill Kondrashin
[7] I. Allegro molto 7:02
[8] II. Allegretto 5:59
[9] III. Adagio 6:14
[10] IV. Allegro risoluto 6:17

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm