Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante K364 Violin Concertos No.1 K207 & No.3 K216


David Oistrakh (violin)
Moscow Chamber Orchestra
conductor Rudolf Barshai (also Viola in K364)
Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra
Kirill Kondrashin (VC1)

Catalogue Number: ALC 1454
Number of Discs: 1CD
Date/Runtime: 75:23 stereo 1960-63
Barcode: 5055354414541


“you can’t go wrong with Oistrakh’s pre-authenticity Mozart. True, this is big-boned, dyed in the wool Mozart, 1960’s style. Tempi are relaxed, textures quite heavy and the ethos masculine and robust … subtle shadings are there – but the prevailing spirit is strong-limbed engagement. K216 was always one of his best pieces of Mozart playing … he also contributes his own, rather good, cadenzas … second movement characteristically expressive and full of the artist’s noble warmth, and a spirit of romance enlivens the finale. Sinfonia Concertante opens at a real maestoso-qualified Allegro. Directed from the viola by Barshai … once again, there’s real affection in the Andante and the finale is nicely buoyant” (MusicWeb)

Sinfonia Concertante in Eb major, K364 [30:34]
[1] Allegro maestoso 12:50
[2] Andante 11:54
[3] Presto 5:49
Violin Concerto No.3 in G major, K216 [23:17]
[4] Allegro 8:44
[5] Adagio 8:17
[6] Rondeau: Allegro 6:15
Violin Concerto No.1 in Bb major, K207* [21:14]
[7] Allegro moderato 7:22
[8] Adagio 7:49
[9] Presto 6:02

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm