Dvořák Piano Concerto/ Piano Quintet Op.81


Sviatoslav Richter
Prague S.O/ Smetacek
Sviatoslav Richter
Borodin Quartet

Catalogue Number: ALC 1460
Number of Discs: 1CD
Date/Runtime: DDD/ADD 79:15, 1966/83 Prague / Moscow
Barcode: 5055354414602


[Concerto: Richter insisted on playing Dvořák’s originally-conceived version and not the then-standard, as transcribed by Vilém Kurz] … “Richter pronounced that it was the most difficult concerto he had ever tackled but somehow he made Dvořák’s original, unrevised piano-writing – sound totally convincing” [Quintet] “Quick and sensitive as Richter’s playing is, … with the Borodin Quartet supporting him sympathetically the performance has vigour and charm” (Gramophone)

Piano Concerto in G minor, Op.33 (1876) [38:11]
[1] I. Allegro agitato 18:09
[2] II. Andante sostenuto 8:59
[3] III. Allegro con fuoco 11:01
Sviatoslav Richter
Prague Symphony Orchestra / Václav Smetáček
(live, Prague Smetana Hall, 1966)
Piano Quintet No.2 in A major, Op.81 (1887) [40:55]
[4] I. Allegro, ma non tanto 13:40
[5] II. Dumka: Andante con moto 16:30
[6] III. Scherzo: Furiant – Molto vivace 3:40
[7] IV. Finale: Allegro 7:03
Sviatoslav Richter / Borodin Quartet
(live, Moscow, 1983)

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm