ALEXANDER GLAZUNOV String Quartets No. 3 in G major op.26 “Slavonic” No.5 in D minor Op.70; Music From “The Fridays”


Shostakovich Quartet
(Violins I & II: Andrei
Shishlov; Alexander Balashov;
Viola: Alexander Galkovsky;
Cello: Alexander Korchagin)

Catalogue Number: ALC 1444
Number of Discs: 1CD
Date/Runtime: ADD, 69:15, Moscow 1974-9
Barcode: 5055354414442


String Quartet No.3 in G major, Op.26 (27:45)
[1] I. Moderato 5:34
[2] II. Interlude. Moderato 5:11
[3] III. In Mazurka Style. Allegretto 5:56
[4] IV. Finale. Une fete slave. Allegro moderato 11:05
String Quartet No.5 in D minor, Op.70 (28:45)
[5] I. Andante – Allegro 9:16
[6] II. Scherzo. Allegretto 4:19
[7] III. Adagio 8:01
[8] IV. Finale. Allegro 6:59
“The Fridays” cycle for String Quartet:
[09] Prelude & Fugue (Book 1, No.1) 10:16
[10] Kuranta (Book II, No.6) 2:02

“I commend this inexpensive disc to explorers of the string quartet who know and love their Smetana and late-Dvořák Quartets.” (MusicWeb) “Glazunov’s string quartets contain attractive music … a successful reconciliation between the two traditions of Borodin and Tchaikovsky” (c) Gramophone [Quartet 5]: “one is tempted to believe this is the finest of the seven (quartets) … Shostakovich Quartet have great feeling for this music and play with real conviction” (c) Penguin Guide

Additional information

Weight 120 g
Dimensions 12.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm