Ginette Neveu plays: Sibelius Concerto; Suk Four Pieces and Encores



Catalogue number: PACL 95006

Number of Discs: 1CD

Date/Runtime: 1938-46/77:24

Barcode: 5055354409066


Jean Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor, Op.47
1. Allegro moderato                                                   15:47   
2. Adagio di molto                                                      8:08   
3. Allegro ma non tanto                                             7:59
Josef Suk: Four Pieces, Op.17
4. Quasi ballata                                                          4:40   
5. Appassionata                                                         4:22   
6. Un poco triste                                                         4:00   
7. Burleska                                                                   3:01
8.    Ravel: Tzigane                                                  10:11
9.    Ravel: Pièce en forme de habañera                3:09
10.  Dinicu arr Heifetz: Hora Staccato                       2:23
11.  Gluck: Mélodie/Danse (Orfeo ed Euridice)       2:56
12.  Scarlatescu: Bagatelle                                        3:28
13.  Paradies arr Dushkin: Sicilienne                         3:09

14.  de Falla arr Kreisler: Danse Espagnole           3:26

1-3: Philharmonia Orchestra / Walter Susskind (rec. London 1945)

4-10, 12, 14: Jean Neveu, piano (rec. London 1946)

11, 13: Bruno Seidler-Winkler, piano (rec. Berlin 1938)

“around the head of Neveu is no gentle halo , but a flame of fire” (Gramophone) … “She was an incomparably promising young violinist. She won the inaugural Henryk Wieniawski International Competition in 1935, beating David Oistrakh; she was 15, he was 27. Perhaps her best-known recording is the Sibelius Concerto …Her unique quality was the intense and passionate beauty of her playing, an incandescent · and fiercely primitive passion that seemed always on the verge of breaking all restraint, yet just controlled by powerful will and intellect … As she played she crouched over her fiddle like a tense panther about to spring and she produced sound pulsed with unspeakable intensities… as one who was privileged to know her, I feel that the suggestive power of her personality comes most strongly from the Ravel Tzigane and the Sibelius Concerto.” (Walter Legge / EMI)