Daniil Shafran: Cello Masterpieces



Catalogue number: PACL 95008

Number of Discs: 1CD

Date/Runtime: 1961-62/68:43 stereo

Barcode: 5055354409080


Joseph Haydn – Cello Concerto No.2 in D Major, Op.101
[1]   Allegro moderato  14:14
[2]   Adagio    5:41
[3]   Rondo – Allegro  5:39
with USSR State Symphony Orchestra / Neeme Jarvi
Melodiya, Moscow, 1962
Schubert – Sonata in A Minor, (‘Arpeggione’)
[4]   I.  Allegro moderato    7:33
[5]   II.  Adagio   4:09
[6]   III. Allegretto   7:03
Shostakovich – Cello Sonata, Op 40
[7]   I.  Moderato   8:41
[8]   II. Moderato con moto   3:10
[9]   III.  Largo  8:05
[10] IV. Allegretto   4:03
both above with Lydia Pecherskaya (piano)
RCA studios New York, 1961

(Stephen Isserlis): “I love his playing. Sebastian Comberti came up with the best description …it was like finding the last member of a lost tribe of cellists. His playing takes you right back to a different era” “(Schubert) Shafran emerges as very able … not as rhythmically wayward as Rostropovich … the finale has an irresistible rhythmic lilt. (Shostakovich) presents a fuller picture of Shafran’s artistry. He plays with very serious commitment, considerable tonal variety and technical ease, and has a splendid partner in Lydia Pecherskaya – a very perceptive musician throughout the Schubert too. The charm of the Allegretto is very well caught by both artists” (Haydn): Shafran claimed that his affinity with the concerto began before birth: his father was practicing it when his mother went into labour and was reluctant to take her to the hospital until it was perfect !” (Gramophone)